top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefelicialoughery

Worry Monsters

I'm back with another project for you to work on with your families. I hope you enjoy making this fun craft. The purpose of a worry monster (or animal could be a shark or another favorite animal) is for a child to tangibly be able to let go of worries or other negative feelings they are having (doesn't always have to be worry - could be anger, etc.). You can watch the video here

Here are the directions if you're unable to watch the video.

1. Choose a box (tissue or other small box). Really could be anything that has an opening you can put some slips of paper into (i.e. soup can, cereal box, anything!) Make sure your object has a "mouth" opening.

2. Decorate the box however you want with materials around your house. I had some construction paper, some fun poms and googly eyes. Might need to be a little creative which makes this even more fun! I've seen other monsters that have yarn for hair and pipe cleaners for legs. Maybe even feathers! Make the monster special to you!

3. When you've finished creating your monster it's time to talk about different worried feelings we have and talk about those; thinking of things they don't want to othink of.

4. Write or draw these worries or other negative feelings on a piece of paper and feed it to the monster. This is representative of letting the feeling go. The monster gobbles up these feelings so they can go away.

During these times of uncertainty I'm sure there are many things that are troubling and worrying and I hope this can be a fun activity to recognize these feelings and begin to let them go.

As always I would love to see your monsters if you choose to use this activity. Please feel free to send along any pictures!

I'm also thinking of some fun activities for us to do in the future. If you have any ideas you can let me know by contacting me.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Updates

As the school year is beginning to wind down I hope that you are continuing to work hard and doing your best to get through this time! 1. Virtual Lunch with the Counselors - I have had a lot of studen

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page